And The Beat Goes On

And so, we have it ladies and gents! The Pakistani ISI has supposedly been exposed for its double role in the war on terror, assisting the US and funding the Taliban (but who’s the terrorist!?!?). So what happened next?

Well, they say music is the language of love and so using lyrics from some of my favourite bands and songs I reckon this how the conversation  between the US (Clinton) and Pakistan (Haqqani) probably goes:

(ps. see if you can pinpoint what songs have been used!)

Haqqani: “Good morning, good morning, good morning…”

Clinton: “I tried to telephone, They said you were not home, That’s a lie.”

Haqqani: “Where do I begin to tell the story…”

Clinton: “I may be mad, I may be blind, I may be viciously unkind, But I can still read what you’re thinking”

Haqqani: “She’s not a girl who misses much… “

Clinton: “Why?”

Haqqani: “You say why, and I say I don’t know”

Clinton: “What goes on in your mind? You are tearing me apart, When you treat me so unkind, What goes on in your mind?”

Haqqani: “But now the tide is turning, I can see that I was blind, It’s so easy for a girl like you to lie, Tell me why, What goes on in your heart?”

Clinton: “Now it took time for me to know, What you tried so not to show”

Haqqani: “Baby, I’d love you to want me, The way that I want you, The way that it should be”

Clinton: “Through the storm we reach the shore, You give it all but I want more”

Haqqani: “Sleight of hand and twist of fate, on a bed of nails she makes me wait”

Not too subtle, we hope!

Clinton: “C’mon, Everybody’s talkin’ ’bout Minister, Sinister, Banisters and Canisters,
Bishops, Fishops, Rabbis, and Pop Eyes, Bye bye, Bye byes”

Haqqani: “Let me tell you now, Everybody’s talkin’ ’bout, Revolution, Evolution, Masturbation”

Meanwhile somewhere in the background they hear a cry and listen:

“Help! I need somebody!”

Upon this cry, they listen even more closely as the voice wails: “Oh let the sun beat down upon my face, With stars to fill my dream… My shangri-la beneath the summer moon, I will return again. Sure as the dust that floats high in June, When movin’ through Kashmir..”

Realising that it’s only the Kashmir issue crying for attention, they resume their discussion:

Haqqani: “ Look, I get by with a little help of my friends… do you need anybody?”

Clinton: “No! I am a woman, hear me roar!”

Haqqani: “Well you know that I’m a wicked guy, And I was born with a jealous mind”

Not Pictured: Bad haircuts and matching suits.

Clinton: “So, I should have realized a lot of things before”

Haqqani: “Try to see it my way, Do I have to keep on talking till I can’t go on?

Clinton: “While you see it your way, Run the risk of knowing that our love may soon be gone”

Haqqani: “My friends feel it’s their appointed duty, They keep trying to tell me all you want to do is use me”

Clinton: “Now Junior, behave yourself! Don’t let me down!”

Haqqani: “Well I’m not braggin’ babe so don’t put me down..”

Clinton and Haqqani together: “We’re playing those mind games together, Pushing barriers, planting seeds, Playing the mind guerilla, Chanting the Mantra peace on earth, We all been playing mind games forever”
And the beat goes on…

Tags:

Categories: Music

Author:Mehr F Husain

Mehr F Husain was Features Editor of The Friday Times. She lives out of a suitcase.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “And The Beat Goes On”

  1. Dogstarr
    July 1, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    ‘Not pictured: bad haircuts and matching suits!’ heheheh. great article on the whole.

Leave a Reply

