4 Paki tunes from the 90’s that still kick raw ass!

Ask anyone my age, and they’ll state that the 90s were a great time for everything… music, movies, hell everything! Where most may beg to differ with this statement, I must add that I am biased (quite like the kind of person I would want protecting the galaxy). Where our music industry was getting sexy with Saleem Javed, or reeling from the tabasco enema given by Maira and Waqar, there was still something to write home about. Some bands sounded great back then, and hell, they still sound good today. One wonders where our industry would be had these bands still been around. No, this article isn’t about cockfests like “Purani Jeans” and the bubblegum shitter Dr. and Billa were on. This article is biased. Heavily.

Retrospectively, 4 tunes stand out in my mind… tunes like:

____________________________________________________________________________________________

#4: The Trip – Buried in the Sand

Back in 1996, a fellow named Babar Khan had a band called The Trip, which ran around playing Pink Floyd covers, while generally being fodder to a generation still very much looking for the definition of “cool”. I was 15 back then and I qualified to run the search along with the others as jilted or jaded as I was… depending on what side of the coin you were looking at. Nonetheless, my first reaction was “Whoa!”, which can be argued to be a bit much… but hey, I was 15, my hormones were raging, and this dude with a big “fuck off” beard and a cheesy smile was the shit when I saw this video.

Back when I’d knife somebody for a Nike hat.

I started wondering what pot was all about after I heard this tune. For some odd reason, that’s the connection my mind made.

And then he died.


____________________________________________________________________________________________

#3: Overdrive – Zameen

Proof that there were people out there listening to 90s era grunge, Overdrive came up with this tune that created an empty space where all my fucks used to be. Now, where I may not be sure whether this song was ripped off from another song done by some gora band, I reckon I tend to think that because of the sheer sound and vibe this tune carries with it.

Overdrive… cool to the point of not having any pictures of the band on the internet.

Possibly because I tend to think that something this cool just could not be homegrown… but to my knowledge, it is! And fucking WOW! We need more of this madness… I’d gladly wear a plaid shirt and some dirty ripped jeans with my Chuck Taylors and shoot a needle in my arm at the thought. Here’s to hoping this is indigenous.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

#2: Jazba – Jago

I’m sure we all know this one… Pakistani militant rap at its best… music with a purpose. Where many bands tried to blend in rap with musical mainstream (a la Fat Bastard “White Boy” from EP, Fakhr-e-Alam’s Bhangra Pow!, etc), Jazba did the best job with their synth driven sound and “hey-people-is- dyin’-out-here!” context. Sure, Rage Against the Machine they ain’t, but in my mind they came pretty close.

Minus the Chinese guy.

Hell, I studied at an all boys school where this shit was the mutt’s nuts! Jazba was a band where one guy looked like a math teacher, one guy looked like he would sell you some bad acid, the vocalist looked like he would shank you in a prison shower after raping you, and one guy was Chinese… fucking Chinese! Suck on that, Junoon, with your white bassist. All Brian O’ Connell ever gave us was drone strikes. Racist? Yes.

Viva la Kashmir!

____________________________________________________________________________________________

#1: Milestones – Jadoo

Let’s face it… Ali Tim was rocking the Keith Richards/Jack Sparrow look long before Johnny Depp came along with lazily uttered speech and Pepe le Pew lust. And the Milestones were rocking out funk long before anyone else had the balls to slip into the mainstream.

See? See? Jack Sparrow ain’t got shit on him!

With Candy’s melodious “I’m hot, but am I?” attitude, Ali Tim and his mummy-daddy sounding interludes that were still downright groovy, and Ziad Gulzar funking it up with a mustache [our own Pakistani Frank Beard, I tell’s ya!], this band should have still been making music, keeping our minds on the fence regarding decisions such as whether you would swap shirts with Ali Tim after a gig.

Ye Zindagee, Baat, etc, the Milestones were far ahead of their time (and could have used a full time drummer), but it’s sad to see they’re not around anymore. My facebook stalking states they may regroup, but that has yet to happen. Perhaps then, on some lazy day, my friends and I can lay to rest the debate on where Candy lies on the “Hottie or Potty” scale. Where The Trip made me feel like the weight of the world was on my shoulders, Overdrive made me not give a shit, and Jazba made me want to take Kashmir by my lonesome, the Milestones simply made me feel… cool.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Abdul Qadir – ‘Jesus man! You don’t look for acid! Acid finds you when ‘it’ thinks you’re ready.’

Earlier, Qadir showed us the strange things the world is doing with breast milk. You can read that here.


Tags: ,

Categories: Music

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “4 Paki tunes from the 90’s that still kick raw ass!”

  1. Abdullah Syed
    November 28, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    Shukria for reminding. SRSLY. Aala stuff.

  2. Najaf
    September 22, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    Overdrive was an awesome band and Candy was very nice as well 🙂

  3. September 18, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    Absolutely agree with you! I remember the pocket money I used to spend on the OffBeat cassette shop… i dont even see cassettes any more, but yeah coming back to the point 90’s had some really good songs I remember. and you had to mention Saleem Javed, thank you : ) hahaha. Milestones was awesome, Kaisa Hai Ye Jadoo and Ali Tim looking like Cap’n Jack Sparrow. Music by Overdrive and Jazba I believe was great in the time when people like Vital signs and Awaz were photocopying music by bands like Simply Red and many other people whom I don’t know. All in all I’d say original or not, but these Pakistani music made the 90’s sound best… remember we had NTM the second only choice after PTV… it was so cool with Music Channel Charts from Komal Rizvi and Faisal Qureshi (the crazy left out always like Naveed in Ufone adds) those were the days mon chum. great to read things on your website, BigPen is excellent!!
    Salman Lodhi.

Leave a Reply

